The Eight Facets of God

September 11, 1976 |

Categories: Yogi Bhajan Lectures

Chakra Energy Art “Light Being” by Laurie Bain

At a lecture in Japan on September 11, 1976 the Siri Singh Sahib, Yogi Bhajan taught a meditation, using the Gobinday, Mukanday, Udaaray, Apaaray, Hariang, Kariang, Nirnaamay, Akaamay mantra, which he says are the Eight Facets of God.

Below is an explanation of how to do the meditation, and some excerpts from various lectures by Yogi Bhajan describing the “Guru Gaitri Mantra”.


This is a sound which anybody and everybody can pick up. These are eight facets of God, eight sides of God:

Gobinday, Mukanday, Udaaray, Apaaray, Hariang, Kariang, Nirnaamay, Akaamay

Pick up the notes. The brain has the capacity to automatically pick it up. These words existed before any language existed. Just pick up the rhythm and that’s all you have to learn. These are called rhythm mantras. Rhythm mantras are meant to pick you up into the ether. This is one mantra in the world which balances the ether and the Earth.

You can sing it any way. You can sing it driving, sitting, eating, sleeping; it doesn’t matter. Whenever you utter it, all facets of God will be right in you. Now, when you will do this, after a while you will start seeing lots of things. You will say something and it will happen; don’t worry. Just keep on doing it.

Life is a living experience between the finite and Infinity.

“The Guru Gaitri Mantra of Guru Gobind Singh has the power of the four Vedas, six Puranas and thirty-six Simritis. All these are equal to reciting the Guru Gaitri just once. Traditionally, only a person who has been initiated by a guru is entitled to chant a gaitri. Whosoever shall chant it, the Primal Power, the Adi Shakti, will guard that being.

This mantra is a ‘Shakti’ mantra. Shakti gives one the positive power of God. If you chant this mantra, there shall be no enemy, including one’s own ego, which can overpower you. It is a mantra of deathlessness.” –Yogi Bhajan (July 9, 1975)

“Besides helping cleanse the subconscious mind, this mantra balances the hemispheres of the brain, bringing compassion and patience to the one who meditates on it.”      ~ Yogi Bhajan

Gobinday Mukunday, also known as the Guru Gaitri Mantra, is a powerful tool for moving through difficult situations. Written by the 10th Sikh Guru, Guru Gobind Singh, it includes eight different names or aspects of the Divine:
Gobinday – Sustainer
Mukunday – Liberator
Udaaray – Enlightener
Apaaray – Infinite
Hariang – Destroyer
Kariang – Creator
Nirnamay – Nameless
Akamay – Desireless

“Chanting this mantra for at least 11-minutes can help eliminate blocks and errors of the past, as well as support letting go of fear, attachment and pain – with ultimate compassion and patience.  You are only free when you are above time and space. When you are afraid, ‘What will happen tomorrow?’, you are not living, you are just dragging. Spirit is above time and space.” -Yogi Bhajan, 7/29/78

“Once we are in alignment with our truth, we can begin to initiate change. Using the technology of Kundalini Yoga, we can begin to manifest and sustain new endeavors, no matter how large or small.  This technology is fundamental to the physiology and consciousness of human beings everywhere. Understanding and practicing the technology of spirituality on a daily basis, results in alignment, balance, focus, harmony and the ability to function successfully under the pressures of time and space. It is now time that we must learn the way to be happy and to thrive under these new elevated levels of pressure.” -Excerpt from a paper read at a lecture by Yogi Bhajan on 7/27/99

Meditation with the Guru Gaitri Mantra

Posture: Sit in Easy Pose with a straight spine.

Focus: Eyes are closed.

Mantra: Gobinday, Mukanday, Udaaray, Apaaray, Hariang, Kariang, Nirnaamay, Akaamay 

Chant and focus on the sound.

Time: Continue for 11 minutes.

Musical Versions of this Mantra

By Satkirin Kaur

By Guru Shabad Singh

By Matamandir Singh

By White Sun

 By Sada Sat Kaur

By Meditative Mind

Your experience is important!

Share your wisdom with others like you. Leave your comment below

Leave a Reply